Undiscovered Jewish Malta 

Save the date for our upcoming free virtual lecture on March 6th, 2022: The Tayar Foundation for Jewish Heritage in Malta presents:

 “Undiscovered Jewish Malta – Through the Eyes of a Historian, Travel Author and Lecturer Irene Shaland.”

Day/Date: Sunday March 6th 2022

Time: 2:00 PM EST US/19:00 Portugal/20:00 Malta and Italy/21:00 Israel

The event is free, but registration is required. Here is the link to register for this free presentation:

https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcrcuiopjktGt0WrOeueofw-ApLZbpn9LFb

Join Irene Shaland, internationally-published art and travel writer, educator, and lecturer for a deeper look into Malta’s Jewish history and present-day society. This presentation will highlight Malta’s spellbinding Jewish narrative still under-the-radar for most historians and travelers: from Israelites sailing there with Phoenicians three thousand years ago, to the first Jewish traveler, the Biblical Paul, arriving in Malta in the first century CE, through the dark times of Jewish slavery during the Knights of St. John’s rule in the 16th century, to today’s blossoming Jewish community.

Much of what will be shared has been captured in Irene’s latest book “Shaland’s Jewish Travel Guide to Malta and Corsica” available in paperback and eBook editions on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3nfjH9s

 

About The Tayar Foundation for Jewish Heritage: https://jewishheritagemalta.org/

The Tayar Foundation was established to safeguard Malta’s precious Jewish History. The Foundation aims
– To bring awareness to the general public, locally and internationally, of the Jewish communities that lived in the archipelago.
– To promote the study of Jewish communities in Malta since Roman times.
– To hold events highlighting Jewish History and Culture for the benefit of the Maltese community.
– To restore the Kalkara and Ta’ Braxia cemeteries on behalf of the Jewish Community of Malta.